Kreimer’s German Bier Haus: Restaurant Review

While I was in Cincinnati for the Donauschawben’s Bridal Expo, I was super lucky to spend some time with my friends Nick, Jen, Elizabeth and Evan (and baby Max!). The night before the expo we all went out for dinner with Jen’s parents to Kreimer’s Bier Haus.

Kreimer’s Bier Haus is one of the most unique German restaurants I’ve ever been too. It’s located in Cleves, Ohio right on the Great Miami River. The decor was very rustic and medieval with some fabulous German accents thrown in. While we were waiting for a table, Jen showed me around the property and through the restaurant which was like a maze. Little nooks and tables in hidden spaces and a whole section of the restaurant that faced the river and I can only imagine what it would look like in the summer when all the trees are green! The outdoor area is like its own little town with what looked like a rib shack, a mini bier hall, a few gazebos and fire pits with chairs for people to just relax. I would love to go back in the summer and enjoy the atmosphere of that outdoor area for myself because it looks like it would be amazing. To start, I ordered the Kreimer’s Amber, which is an amber beer brewed just for the restaurant. It was good. Nothing extraordinary, but it was a tasty beer.

We ordered potato skins as an appetizer and they were super tasty and crispy, everything you want from a great potato skin. For an entree, I ordered the Sauerbraten Ribeye. It was “Kreimer’s thick hand cut ribeye smothered in our house-made schwein sauce. Served with sauerkraut, a vegetable and a handmade potato pancake topped with cinnamon apples”. When it came to the table my first thought was, “well that steak is as big as my face!” I was expecting the sauce to be more of a sauerbraten style gravy, but the “schwein sauce” was more of a sweet steak sauce. The steak itself was perfectly cooked. The sauerkraut was good, sour, but didn’t taste like it just came out of a can. The potato pancake was not my favorite, more of a fluffy pancakey style. The broccoli was typical german style veggies… just boiled, but I dipped them in Nick’s Bier Cheese that he ordered and boy oh boy did that make the broccoli better! It was salty, spicy and simply yummy!

Overall, I had a wonderful experience at Kreimer’s and I would love to go back in the summertime to experience the outdoor area in all its glory and try some more of the food because the menu had me wanting so many different things.
Leave a Reply

